I’m afraid the gap between updates has been longer than anticipated; for the first couple of weeks it was a simple case of lots of work and little free time,  but the last couple of weeks or so I’ve been feeling pretty grotty.   Now at last I’m  slowly beginning to feel human again!

Some answers to the questions on MICA liveries posed in the previous post are still being worked through so I’ll leave the next part of that series for the time being, at least until I have some firm data to share.

Graham’s son, Peter has offered to make a 3D mockup of  the Angel Lane  loco depot in SketchUp, so I hope to share that with you soon.  This will help ensure 99% of practical and compositional issues have been sorted before butchering a single lump of ply for the layout support framework. I’m moving away from the term ‘baseboard’ as I’m not sure it applies in the time-honoured sense of the word if the plans I have bear practical application. Time will tell if it’s little more than flim-flam on my part or a an inspired decision.  Oi, who just said ‘flim-flam’?  One thing’s for sure, it’s going to be far removed from ‘2″ x 1″ softwood built in the usual way with Sundeala on top to take track pins’ …

This 3D model has prompted much badgering about information on the area around about the GE loco yard, dimensions of various bits of civil engineering and architecture and such like, so a new sketch of has been made and will be uploaded with some commentary soon.

Just before turning a sickly shade of green around the gills I began to make some inroads into my Shelf Queens – half completed models intended for Basilica Fields. Construction on these models was put into abeyance for various reasons from insufficient prototype information to lack of parts, and all sorts of excuses in between. Once I’m up and running again I’ll be finishing some of these off, in particular those items of stock which have a direct relevance to the loco yard area.

With that in mind, I’m starting a new series on GE open wagons which will begin in the next post. Much of the text for this series was drafted during long hours sat in hospital waiting rooms over the last couple of years, so it’s just a case of reigning in the verbose verbiage and rummaging through the endless photo albums for suitable piccies.

